Burnie Print Prize 2019

Friday, 22 March 2019 to Sunday, 5 May 2019

Winner BPP2017P-WAdams.bmp

The Burnie Print Prize brings the best of contemporary printmaking to Burnie .

An initiative of Burnie Regional Art Gallery (BRAG) and supported by the Friends of the Gallery, the Burnie Print Prize (BPP) is BRAG's flagship exhibition and it celebrates our region’s connection to paper-milling, paper-making and paper-using by supporting and showing the highest standards of printmaking in Australia and Oceania.

As one of Australia’s richest and most prestigious printmaking awards with a major prize of $15,000, the competition underscores the importance of this arduous and exacting art form. The many processes of printmaking exhibited by the entrants in BPP 2019, once again display the originality, artisanship and exceptional technical skill, and not to mention the extraordinary beauty, that we have witnessed in past print prizes. Through the competition, Burnie’s permanent art collection recognises a vibrant art form of longevity as we grow an exquisite boutique print collection with examples of work by some of Australia’s greatest artists.


From a very strong field, we would like to congratulate the 63 artists selected for this year's exhibition and competition. 

Selected Artists 2019: Jacqueline Aust, Elizabeth Banfield, TJ Bateson, Kathy Boyle, Dean Brown, Peter Burgess, Susanna Castleden, Seong Cho, Ruth Cho, Benita Clements, Jock Clutterbuck, Warren  Cooke, Ange Cooper, Carolyn Craig, Marian Crawford, Clive Dickson, Mark Dustin, Dianne Fogwell, Victor France, David Frazer, Jackie Gorring, Rona Green, Jacqueline F Gribbin, Christopher Hagen, Robert Hague, Rew Hanks, Bridget Hillebrand, Megan Hinton, Gemma King, Damon Kowarsky, Anita Laurence, Chris Lawry, Monika Lukowska, Katherine Marmaras, Jennifer Marshall, Clyde McGill, Glenda Orr,

Lex Palmer Bull, Michael Phillips, Mary Pulford, Stephanie Jane Rampton, Annika Romeyn, Rachael Rose, Anna Russell, Olga Sankey, Lisa Sewards, Gary Shinfield, Melissa Smith, Paul Snell, Valerie Sparks, Tim Spellman, Ruth Stanton, Laura Stark, Anne Starling, Elmari Steyn, Jan Stickland, Regan Tamanui, Gwenn Tasker, Kati Thamo, Graham Watson, Diana White, Cleo Wilkinson, Katy Woodroffe.


Image:  Winner Burnie Print Prize 2017, Patricia Wilson-Adams NSW Positions 1 to 3, 2016, Letterpress on Chinese paper, wax, slate, wood and metal, 1/4

Cruise Ship Details

  • Arrival DateFriday, 22 March 2019 to Sunday, 5 May 2019